Announcing the winner of the Inntravel Award for Best Short Film


Announcing the winner of the Inntravel Award for Best Short Film

The inaugural Inntravel Award for Best Short Film took place as part of Berwick Film & Media Arts Festival this weekend – with Sight & Sound editor Nick James, filmmaker Eva Weber, and artist-curator Anna Linder announcing the Award following a screening of the eight shortlisted nominees, each competing for a cash prize of £500.

The Jury (pictured)  awarded a special mention to the experimental short film Suddenly Last Summer by Juha Mäki-Jussila from Finland, for its fresh, starkly graphic and rhythmical approach to botanical animation and its subtle use of extracts from the original film soundtrack.

After careful deliberation, the Inntravel Award for Best Short Film 2013 went to Premature by Gunhild Enger from Norway. The Jury said they “loved the tight focus on this awkward family grouping confined to the claustrophobic setting of a car. Taken in one shot without ever feeling gimmicky, the film engages you with its very realistic characters and builds an excruciating atmosphere of dysfunction with excellent performances.”

Winner Gunhild Enger said “Thank you so much for this award. It’s really just an honour to be nominated and really special to receive an award from the UK since I completed my BA back in 2005 in Scotland. I’m really thankful to Inntravel for this Award, and of course to the Jury.”

Steve Jack, Communications Manager at Inntravel, who presented the Award alongside the Jury said “Our congratulations go to Gunhild Enger from Norway, winner of the inaugural Inntravel Award for Best Short Film at this year’s Berwick Film & Media Arts Festival. The quality and variety served up by all eight shortlisted nominees was nothing short of astonishing, but Gunhild’s film Premature was highly original and absolutely riveting – a very worthy winner. We were delighted to support this event, and loved being involved in the festival as a whole – a coming together of great talent and creativity in one of the country’s most beautiful corners. Our thanks to everyone involved for making it so special.”

Pictured L-R: Festival Director Melanie Iredale, Board Member / Film Producer Samm Haillay, Jury Members Anna Linder and Nick James, Steve Jack from Inntravel, Jury Member Eva Weber